About Us

flip flop fam - about us

Our Flip Flop Fam

Hi!  Welcome to our blog!  


We are a rather normal Canadian family with 2 school-age boys and 2 little girls.  We have always loved to travel and experience new places, but with a growing family it became more expensive!  This made us figure out how to get places for less or find amazing new destinations without high tourist prices! 

 

Shortly before the covid outbreak, we were able to move to our dream acreage surrounded by trees.  We have also been exploring more of our local area and you can find many of those articles on our other website.


We aren't currently traveling the world, but have been several places both before kids and as a family.  Since we are so far north, it is winter for most of the year.  So naturally, Mommy is usually trying to find the cheapest destinations to get us to so we can get more bang for our buck!  That way we can go on more vacations or go longer!  Our goal is to one day become a snowbird family!  We love our home in the trees here in Canada, yet wish we could get away for most of the winter!

rachel from frlip flop fam

Rachel (Mommy)

I'm a stay at home mom (in my 30's) and have 4 kiddos.  When I was 18, I lived in Panama for a year on a student exchange, took Petroleum Engineering Technology when I returned, then was able to score a good job.  This enabled me to save money to travel in which I did as frequently as possible and later backpacked some of Central America before meeting my hubby and starting a family.  


On a daily basis I am learning about countries I've never been to and constantly adding to my bucket list.  I have an insatiable thirst for travel and seeing the world! Particularly, I love warm, tropical countries with beautiful beaches and turquoise water.  


I also love nature and being outdoors - yet am always cold so have a hard time loving outside during our long winters!  I'm always looking for fantastic new places to visit for a deal!  

mom & dad from flip flop fam

Hubby or Daddy

Hubby is 100% my soul-mate.  He works hard so I can stay home with the kids yet is usually more than willing to go along with my adventure plans.  Like many Canadian men, he loves hockey!  Also, he enjoys getting outside for walks/hikes with the family, quadding (ATV'ing), camping, and hunting.  He also likes everything clean, organized, and uncluttered so he does his fair share of the home-making too!  (Except the laundry...he may do more than his fair share... haha!)

Beach in Progreso, Mexico

The Kiddos 

Our two boys are 7 and 8 and currently in school!  Like most boys they love to wrestle, break things, and just generally be rambunctious!  They also love anything with motors or to do with sports.  Following in our footsteps, they often say they are tired of snow and ready to go to the beach!  My eldest is set on visiting the Philippines, while the 2nd little man wants to go to Japan so he can eat sushi.  Yep...I'm teaching them right!  


Our Princess is just out of toddler stage and full of sass.  She is never shy and is always asking the boys if she is beautiful!  Baby girl (#4) was a COVID baby and therefore, unlike her siblings, has been traveling only locally.  We hope to change that soon!

Get In Touch...


Follow Us

Never miss a good story!

 Subscribe to our newsletter to receive new posts, travel tips and freebies to your inbox!